Lime Pie Cheesecake Thing

It was my last day at work yesterday for nearly 6 months, because I’m about to have a baby, so of course I made food to take in and celebrate a totally different thing (Harmony Day) in order to take any focus away from me. This was an experiment. An experiment that turned out to be not really a pie, but also not a cheesecake. No cheese in it, for starters. Although it looked like a cheesecake. But only because I made too much of it to fit into a pie dish… Whatever it was, it was delicious and amazing and really easy to make. Because it needs to chill for a good few hours after baking this is ideal to make the night before you need it.

IMG_2531

There was an original recipe that I found on Pinterest, but I kinda just used it as a general guide to ingredients that I could mess with. Especially because it was a US recipe and therefore the quantities were all messed up anyway. Apparently a 14oz tin converts to 414ml and that is just never going to work. I had to google what a ‘key lime’ is. And I have no idea what a graham cracker is, but I do like a gingernut, and they make good pie/cheesecake/thing bases. So here’s my version:

1.5 x 250g packets of gingernut biscuits
melted butter
2 x 395ml tins sweetened condensed milk
250g light sour cream
zest of 3 large limes
Lime juice (I juiced 2 of the limes and that was enough, depends how juicy the limes are)

(A few notes here to start with. I started trying to use a tart tin, but as I was smooshing the base into it I realised there was going to be no room for the filling, so I switched to a round springform cake tin. Also, you could easily use the whole two packets of biscuits if you wanted, and run the base further up the sides of the tin than I did, because I had some filling left over that I had to just eat with a spoon from the bowl instead. That was a shame… A delicious shame. Also I have no idea how much butter I used – I just kept melting a bit at a time and stirring it in to the biscuit crumbs, but I ended up using too much because I then had to soak off a heap of buttery grease with a paper towel before I baked it. Oops.)

Whizz the biscuits through a food processor until they are a fine crumb, then pop them in a bowl and add enough melted butter that it all starts coming together and you can press the lot into the bottom of a cake tin without it being too crumbly. Bake in a 200C oven for 7 minutes. Leave it in the tin and let it cool while you make the filling.

IMG_2525

Beat together all the remaining ingredients. Because I squeezed the limes straight into the bowl I don’t know how much juice there was, but lots of bits of pulp ended up in there too which I think made the flavour just that bit better. Basically just taste the mixture and see if it’s good. The extra lime I think helped balance out the condensed milk, which I find can be overwhelmingly sweet. Pour the filling into the tin, and it should come up to around the top of the edges of the crust. Bake at 180C for no more than 15 minutes (the crust will start to burn if you leave it too long). Take it out, cool for 10 minutes in the tin, then put it all in the fridge for at least 3 hours before removing the tin.

IMG_2526

I was really surprised at how set it was when it came out of the oven, I really wasn’t expecting it. And again surprised at how well it properly held together while slicing it and eating it the next day. Everyone seemed to really love it too, so I’ll definitely be making it again!

Image 21-03-2015 at 3.23 pm

Leave a Reply

