Zucchini and Sultana Loaf

I started a new job about 4 weeks ago, but until today I hadn’t done any baking for them. We had a farewell morning tea today though, so I thought I’d bring in something home-made. Not pretty, but made with love 🙂

20130227-132056.jpg

There are a few special dietary requirements in my new team, which is great because it makes for a challenge – we have a combination of dairy-free, nut-free, and just generally very health conscious people. I also didn’t have much time in which to produce anything! I was initially thinking I’d do a carrot cake because they are generally dairy-free with no extra effort, but then realised I didn’t have enough carrots… I did have zucchinis though! So, zucchini loaf it was. I found a basic recipe but then made so many changes it became virtually unrecognisable: here’s my version.

2 medium zucchinis, finely grated
3 eggs
1 cup vegetable oil
1 cup raw sugar
3/4 cup sultanas
1/4 cup sunflower seeds
1 teaspoon mixed spice
1 1/2 cups self-raising flour
1 1/2 cups plain flour

Preheat oven to 180C, grease and line a loaf tin.
Beat the eggs, oil and sugar until well combined, stir in the zucchini, sultanas and sunflower seeds. Stir in the remaining ingredients in 2 batches. Pour into the loaf tin and bake for about 1 1/4 hours. Let it stand in the tin for 5 minutes before turning onto a wire rack to cool.

I made a simple cinnamon glaze to pour over the top as it was cooling, just by mixing icing sugar with some water and cinnamon. This is entirely optional though!

Leave a Reply

