No-Bake Chocolatey Green Protein Balls

I’ve been very slack on the baking front lately, sorry about that. And I’m not sure you could even call this particular recipe ‘baking’ as there is no actual cooking required at all. But it’s something, and it’s different, and it’s healthy, so here you go!

I decided I wanted to make some kind of snack food that I could have with my tea during morning or afternoon breaks each day, but I needed something healthy and preferably with some kind of protein, because I’m about to start personal training and gym-going on a regular basis. (I’ve been talked into doing this Spartan Race thing in June, so I need some level of fitness…)

And so, here we have my version of protein ball things. If you don’t have, or don’t like, green powder stuff then substitute with extra protein powder. Also feel free to add or change things according to what you have in the pantry – I might try adding some cinnamon and/or coconut next time.

Image

200g (approx 12) fresh dates, deseeded
1 1/2 tablespoons protein powder (I used chocolate flavoured soy protein)
1 tablespoon green powder (I found this in the health food section of a pharmacy, it has wheatgrass, spirulina, chlorophyll and such things in it)
3 tablespoons almond meal
1 tablespoon chia seeds
1 tablespoon cocoa powder
2 tablespoons almond milk

Put everything in a food processor and pulse until the mixture starts to come together, then process until it becomes a paste. It will look like some kind of gross sludge, but don’t be put off, it tastes better than it looks. If it’s too dry, add some more milk, if it’s too squidgy add some more protein powder or almond meal.

Wet your hands and roll into small balls, about a heaped teaspoon per ball. Roll the balls in a coating such as coconut (I intended to use coconut but didn’t have any, so I used a mixture of almond meal and protein powder instead). I found this mixture made 12 balls. Keep them in the fridge, and have them as a snack, or post-workout.

One thought on “No-Bake Chocolatey Green Protein Balls

Leave a Reply

