Caramelised Peach Upside-Down Cake

So it was my manager’s birthday and I wanted to bake her a cake. I felt like baking something new, but wasn’t in the mood for cupcakes or chocolate or fancy icing (I know, all very weird!) and came across this recipe in one of my books. Sounded like exactly what I felt like making! It was also easy which was a bonus.

It turned out well, but I used a tin that was slightly too small (20cm) so I had to leave the cake in the oven a bit longer, and the ‘topping’ ended up kind of sliding off around the edges when I turned it out. Not the prettiest cake. Tasted damn good though! It would be great served with some natural greek-style yoghurt.

250g soft butter
1/3 cup brown sugar
825g tin peach halves
1 cup caster sugar
finely grated zest of 1 lemon
3 eggs
2 1/2 cups self-raising flour
1 cup plain yoghurt

Preheat the oven to 180C and grease a 23cm round cake tin – line the base with baking paper. Melt 50g butter and pour into the tin. Sprinkle the brown sugar evenly over the top. Drain the peaches, reserving 2 tablespoons of liquid, and place the peaches (cut side up) in the base of the tin.

Cream the remaining butter, the lemon zest and the caster sugar. Add the eggs one at a time, beating briefly between each addition. Use a metal spoon to fold in half the sifted flour, then the yoghurt, then the rest of the flour and the peach juice. Pour the mixture into the tin, and bake for about 1 hour 25 minutes (or until a skewer comes out clean). Leave in the tin about 30 minutes before turning out on to a serving plate.

I’m now a bit of a fan of the upside-down cake! I had no idea they were so easy, and delicious, and there is no decorating required as the topping is done for you! I’ll be making more.

3 thoughts on “Caramelised Peach Upside-Down Cake

Leave a Reply

