Bread and (no) Butter Pudding (with Benedictine)

We had a sausage sizzle at our house last weekend, and I over-catered with the bread. I bought 4 loaves, but we only ended up using about 2. I froze the leftovers but I really had no idea what I was going to do with it all, considering we don’t really eat much bread in our house. So yesterday I decided to try making brad and butter pudding.

It turned out a little differently than I had originally envisaged, probably (like many other kitchen experiments of mine) due to my laziness – I couldn’t be bothered going to the shops to buy ingredients so I made do with substitutes that I found in the pantry.

Image

It looked a mess but tasted good! The original recipe actually had butter in it, and also sultanas. No marmalade or Benedictine. I like how mine turned out though, so here’s the recipe:

8-10 slices slightly stale bread
marmalade
2 eggs
2 cups milk
3 tablespoons caster sugar
30-45ml Benedictine (you could use Grand Marnier or Cointreau instead, we just had Benedictine sitting on the kitchen bench for some reason)

Spread the bread generously with marmalade and cut in half diagonally. Layer in a greased baking dish. Whisk together all the remaining ingredients and pour over the top of the bread, making sure the bread is well soaked. I squished it down into the dish with my hands to make sure all the bread had been moistened. Leave it to soak for about 30 minutes. Place the baking dish in a large pan of water, making sure the water comes about halfway up the sides of the baking dish. Bake in a moderate (180C) oven for about 35-40 minutes. Serve warm with cream or ice cream.

If you wanted to make it the regular way, switch the marmalade for butter, leave out the liqueur, and sprinkle sultanas between each layer of bread. Finish the dish with a sprinkle of cinnamon or mixed spice before baking.

Leave a Reply

