Last Minute Colourful Cupcakes

I received a last minute request from my hairdressers this week for 2 dozen cupcakes and I love those guys so I couldn’t say no! They were really easy going about it too, didn’t care what flavour I made, just that there should be a bit of colour. Because I didn’t have a lot of time (I needed to make these on a Friday night but I was also going out for dinner and drinks beforehand) I decided to keep it simple. I made these vanilla/vanilla cupcakes because I knew they would work, and to make them colourful I used bold coloured cupcake liners and decorated them with 100’s & 1000’s.

I discovered a great way to do the decoration without spilling the 100’s & 1000’s everywhere was to keep it all contained in a plastic box. Ice the cakes, put them in the box, tip the sprinkles over the top, let them sit for a minute, shake off the excess*. Easy, pretty, tasty!

*Tip: I learned from experience when shaking off the excess sprinkles, be really careful not to let go of the cupcake or it falls and completely squidges the icing and you have to start all over again, and that’s a bit annoying.

4 thoughts on “Last Minute Colourful Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

