Award-Winning Post-Wedding Pikelets

Did you know I once won an award for cooking? Second prize in the Royal Darwin Show, 1985, pre-school cooking division. I made pikelets and they were excellent. My mother swears I made them completely on my own, albeit after months of training. The prize was $5. I think it was the high point of my culinary doings. True story.

Anyway, waking up this morning, on the morning after my wedding, I decided that my first wifely action would be to make breakfast. And although I’ve not made them for many years I decided to do pikelets. I think it was something to do with not feeling too bright and sparky this morning, and needing something easy to make – my theory being that if I could make them when I was 4 then I could make them now without too much effort.

Thankfully they worked just as well this morning as they did all those years ago, so here’s the recipe:

1 cup self raising flour
pinch of salt
1/4 teaspoon bicarb soda
3 tablespoons caster sugar
3/4 cup buttermilk
1 egg
2 teaspoons melted butter

Sift all the dry ingredients together in a large bowl. Add the milk and egg and mix together, then stir in the butter. Let it sit for about 15 minutes. Stir it well, then heat a large non-stick frying pan to around a medium heat, drop in large spoonfuls of the batter. Let them cook until bubbles start to form on the tops, then flip them over. Cook them for another 2 minutes or so (lift them up a little at the sides to check if they’re done).

Serve warm or cool with whatever you like! I like them spread with butter and jam, or golden syrup. They are also great with jam and cream, or even just on their own.

Leave a Reply

