Fruit and Spice Muffins

It was the show day holiday here in Brisbane today. A gorgeous sunny winter Wednesday, and I didn’t go to the show, but I did go to a picnic in the park this afternoon. So I made muffins! Perfect picnic food – easy to prepare, easy to take with you, easy to share. These are cranberry spice muffins, and they are good! (I may have had to taste test one when they came out of the oven, just to make sure)

3 cups self-raising flour
2 teaspoons mixed spice
1/2 cup caster sugar
125g butter, chopped
1 cup milk
2 eggs
1 cup dried fruit (I used cranberries, but you could use anything)

Sift flour, spice and sugar into a large bowl, and rub in the butter (I hate this part because I’m impatient, so if you really don’t want to do it then you could use a food processor for this step). Stir in the fruit, milk and eggs and mix until just combined. Divide mixture amongst a lined 6-hole texas style muffin pan. Bake for 25-30 minutes at 180C, cool on a wire rack.

I was a bit worried to start with because the mix seemed really thick, and I thought the muffins might turn out too dry, but they were perfect! Massive though, you could probably do regular sized muffins and bake them for 20 minutes instead.

Leave a Reply

