Random Pantry Ingredient Muffins

It was a Sunday afternoon. I was bored. I was hungry. I was a little tipsy on cider.

I decided to make muffins, the catch was that I could only use the ingredients already available to me in the house, and I hadn’t been grocery shopping in nearly 2 weeks. Interesting challenge…

I went with this basic recipe, but varied it slightly out of necessity!

2 cups flour – I only had 1 cup plain flour and 1 cup plain gluten-free flour left, so I mixed them together and then added ¼ cup oat bran for a bit of something extra
¼ cup sugar 
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 egg, beaten
1 cup milk – no milk in the house, but I did have an unopened carton of almond milk, so I used that.
 ¼ cup oil or melted butter, cooled to room temperature – no butter, I used vegetable oil.

I also added 1 mashed ladyfinger banana that I had acquired that morning at the Mother’s Day Classic fun run, a handful of sunflower seeds, a handful of desiccated coconut, and a handful of dried cranberries (a very generous handful of those!). Followed the usual muffin instructions of mixing the dry ingredients separately to the others, then mixing them all together very briefly before spooning into the muffin pan and baking at 200C for nearly 30 minutes.

They actually turned out ok!! And not a massively sugar/fat laden snack either, they went well with another bottle of raspberry and apple cider!!

Leave a Reply

