The Great Cupcake Decorating Experiment

I’m not the greatest at cake decorating – I haven’t done much of it before and I tend to stick with pretty basic types of icing and decorating, even with cupcakes. This is mostly because I don’t really know what I’m doing, but I figure that really the only way I’m ever going to get better at it is to actually give it a go!

I thought I’d start with some cupcakes that I was going to take to work. I made some plain vanilla cupcakes, using my standard cupcake recipe, thinking that plain cake would be a good base for any kind of topping. I decided on ice cream sundae style decorated cupcakes as my theme, not super fiddly and with no extra crazy equipment/ingredients required, but potentially quite effective (if I managed to pull it off!). Here’s how I did them:

I made some basic buttercream icing, added some strawberry flavouring and some pink food colouring. I iced the cupcakes as per usual with a Wilton 1M tip.

Then I melted some milk chocolate, and drizzled a few teaspoonfuls of the melted chocolate on the top of the iced cakes. I let the melted chocolate cool down first, to make sure the heat didn’t melt the icing underneath.

Hundreds and thousands sprinkled on top…

And then finished with a glace cherry!!

SUCCESS!!!!

Verdict: Not really that difficult to do, although more time consuming than usual, but everyone really loved them! I think worth doing again for special occasions. Maybe I could get into this whole fancy decorating thing a little bit more!

3 thoughts on “The Great Cupcake Decorating Experiment

Leave a Reply

