Earl Grey tea cupcakes

So, Earl Grey tea cupcakes. My favourites.

I made these yesterday for an extra special morning tea at work today. They disappeared very quickly, and I’ve had quite a few requests for the recipe. I was given the recipe by a friend ages ago, but I’ve since traced it back and I think it came from Patent and the Pantry.

They actually have tea in them, as you can see from the black specks, and because it’s Earl Grey the smell and taste is beautiful. Combined with the lemon buttercream, they are quite amazing.

I use this recipe now as my basic cupcake recipe, because it works so well, and I simply change the flavours.

250g soft butter
2 cups caster sugar
4 eggs
3 cups self-raising flour
½ cup milk
½ cup strong Earl Grey tea
2 bags of Twinings Earl Grey 

Preheat oven to 180C. Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, beating briefly after each addition. Mix in half the flour, and empty the 2 teabag contents in as well (literally, rip the teabags open and tip them in to the batter). Add the rest of the flour, the milk, and the actual liquid tea, mix until just combined. Fill cupcake tray sections about 2/3 full. Bake for about 20-25 minutes. I find this usually makes around 30-35 cupcakes.

I don’t have a set recipe for the buttercream icing, but I use about 250g butter and beat it until it’s light and creamy, then gradually add icing sugar and some lemon juice until it’s the right consistency. This makes a LOT of icing, but I’m pretty generous with the icing on cakes!

4 thoughts on “Earl Grey tea cupcakes

  1. I remember having one of these little babies at a party last year Anna. I was so impressed by them, think I’ll give them a whirl myself! Also, thanks for selling Clayton on the benefits of a Kitchen Aid. Looks like I might be able to score one in the future sometime…

    xx

  2. Pingback: Lemon Cupcakes | cakeadventures

Leave a Reply

