Red Velvet cupcakes

To me, red velvet cake always has a sense of decadence around it. The texture really is velvety, thanks to the buttermilk, and the cream cheese icing is so luscious.

I’ve made these cakes quite a few times this year upon request, and what I love is that they are so easy – can be made entirely in my kitchenaid mixer – yet they never fail to impress.

This recipe that I use is an adaptation of the one from the famous Hummingbird Bakery, and makes about 24.

120g soft butter
1 1/2 cups caster sugar
2 eggs
5 tablespoons cocoa powder
1 small bottle red food colouring
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup buttermilk
2 1/4 cups plain flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
3 teaspoons white vinegar

Make sure the butter is a room temperature, and cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the egg and mix well.

In a separate bowl mix together the cocoa, vanilla and food colouring colouring until it’s a paste. I find that I usually have to add a bit of water to make this work properly. Add the paste to the batter and beat well, making sure that the red is all mixed through – you may have to stop a few times to scrape down the sides of the bowl.

Turn the mixer to low and slowly add half the buttermilk, mix until combined then add half the flour and mix until combined. Repeat, then beat well until batter is smooth.

Turn mixer to low and add baking soda and vinegar, then turn to high and beat well for a couple of minutes.

Bake for about 20-25 minutes at 180C, then cool in tin for about 10 minutes before putting them on a cooling rack.

I use the same cinnamon cream cheese icing that I use on the Chocolate Stout cake (Philadelphia cream cheese, icing sugar, cinnamon, in whatever quantities work for you).

4 thoughts on “Red Velvet cupcakes

  1. These look AMAZING, hun! I was wondering if you’d whip up a dozen cupcakes, or a little cake just on it’s own, for my bday party (which you’re TOTES invited to, btw) in the middle of July?
    I usually make my own bday cakes, but I’m turning 30, and I’m lazy this year, and we will just have arrived back from a two week holiday. And oh, it’s all just too much hard work!

  2. Hi. I’ve made several RV cakes over the past couple of years – I made this one over the weekend and have to say, this recipe is the best! Thanks for sharing. Pen.

  3. Pen – I’m so glad that these worked out for you!! I love hearing that the recipes I use work well for other people too 🙂

    Katy – sweetie of COURSE I will make your birthday cakey goodness!!

  4. Pingback: Crazy/Messy/Delicious | cakeadventures

Leave a Reply

