Chocolate stout cake

Chocolate cake made with stout may sound like a strange combination but this is, hands down, the best chocolate cake I’ve ever eaten.

I’m seriously considering never using a different chocolate cake recipe ever again. The original recipe is Nigella, and can be found here. I made a few minor changes though:

  • I used double chocolate stout instead of Guinness
  • I added cinnamon to the icing, and didn’t use cream

I baked the cake for the whole hour. Don’t be tempted to try and take the cake out of the tin before it is properly cool though, and don’t think it’s not cooked in the middle (even though it doesn’t look like it is). I’ve found that the best thing is to keep the cake in the tin, refrigerated, until the next day. Ice it, and then if you have time, put it back in the fridge for  bit.

I wanted to take photos of it, but it was demolished so quickly that I didn’t get a chance! Next time…

Make this, I guarantee everyone will be asking for the recipe afterwards.

5 thoughts on “Chocolate stout cake

  1. Pingback: Red Velvet cupcakes | cakeadventures

  2. Pingback: Mini Cooper Cake | cakeadventures

  3. Pingback: Gift Wrapped Cake | cakeadventures

  4. Pingback: Crazy/Messy/Delicious | cakeadventures

  5. Pingback: A Different (from my usual) Chocolate Cake | cakeadventures

Leave a Reply

