Vegan carrot and sultana bread

I had a craving for cakey goodness on the weekend but I’ve been overdoing it a bit lately with the junk food, so I wanted to make something that I could justify as healthy.

I thought I’d try something from my new baking recipe book – it’s Australian Women’s Weekly so it’s pretty hard to go wrong with anything they do! I found  recipe for carrot and raisin bread, and so I altered it slightly to fit all the ingredients that I did/didn’t have in the house – more carrot, sultanas instead of raisins, no nuts, half wholemeal flour, and vegan butter substitute instead of regular butter (not because I’m vegan, just because I had it in the fridge and wanted to use it in baking rather than spread on bread, I think it’s kinda revolting unless it’s cooked into something and you can’t taste it).

My slightly altered version of the recipe is:

1 1/2 cups grated carrot
1 cup sultanas
3/4 cup sugar (I used raw)
3/4 cup water
30g Nuttelex (or any butter substitute)
1 tspn cinnamon
1 tspn allspice
3/4 cup self raising flour
3/4 cup plain wholemeal flour
1/2 tspn bicarb soda
Start by putting the carrot, sultanas, sugar, Nuttelex and water in a saucepan and heating gently until the sugar is melted. Once the sugar is melted, bring to the boil, then reduce to a simmer. Simmer, covered, for 10 minutes then set aside to cool to room temperature.
Simmering carrot and sultanas
Preheat oven to 140C, grease a loaf tin and line the base with baking paper.
Transfer carrot mixture to a large mixing bowl, and sift in the dry ingredients.
Pour into the loaf tin and bake for 1 hour.

Leave in tin to cool for 5 minutes before turning out onto wire rack to cool.

vegan carrot sultana bread

I can never wait until these type of things are cool before eating them, I have no patience for waiting for my food too long! This was a bit ugly looking, all knobbly with slightly burnt sultanas (I love them, they go kind of chewy and toffee-like), but it was actually really tasty warm from the oven. It didn’t need anything else with it, but I think that if it was cold then maybe spread with butter or vanilla yoghurt might be really good.

2 thoughts on “Vegan carrot and sultana bread

  1. It appears to be a nice recepy…I should try it. And I dont thing there is any thing more ‘revolting’ than spreadding ‘butter’ on a nice piece of cake or, bread. I only use oil or soy products instead of revolting butter for any thing I cook! Much healthier and does not make one fat!

  2. I´m also maria elena vito but a proudly VEGAN. I will try making the cake, which sounds great, but with Brown Rice Oil instead of any thing fatty. I’m only have currents so I will try with them…good luck to me!

Leave a Reply

