Best brownie pan ever!

So I was given a fancy pants brownie pan for christmas last year, it has a special insert that separates the mix into perfectly even little squares while it’s baking. I hadn’t used it until a couple of weeks ago, I was honestly a bit unsure how well it would work.

Turns out it’s great!! I didn’t take any pictures of the brownies, but I’ll definitely post some next time, along with my favourite brownie recipe, so stay tuned for that. BUT tonight I tried using the brownie pan for making cornbread, to go with the massive amount of vegetarian chilli I cooked up yesterday.

Cornbread before baking

Baked cornbread

Looks pretty good!! Maybe a bit much batter for the pan…

Anyway, here’s the recipe I usually use, although this time I reduced the amount of oil and buttermilk, and added creamed corn instead. Sometimes I add cheese too.

1 ½ cups cornmeal
1 cup plain flour
2 ½ teaspoons baking powder
½ teaspoon bicarb soda
½ teaspoon salt
1 – 2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 egg1 ½ cups buttermilk
1/3 cup vegetable oil
2 teaspoons honey

Combine all the dry ingredients in a bowl. In another bowl lightly beat the egg, oil, honey and buttermilk. Add to the dry ingredients and mix well. Pour into a greased cake tin – square or round – doesn’t really matter. Bake for 25-30 minutes at 180C.
Leave a Reply

