Dairy Free Banana Cake

I was given a bunch of soft bananas by a colleague who knows I love to bake, and thought I could possibly make something tasty from them (thanks Clayton!). Instead of a banana bread style recipe, I opted for more of a traditional cake. This wasn’t originally intended to be a dairy free cake, it just so happened that way based on the ingredients I had in the fridge. (I’ve made this twice in the last 2 weeks, but unfortunately was not able to get very good photos on either occasion – it disappeared too quickly!)

Sliced up and ready to share!

 

The cake itself is very easy – I made the whole thing in my KitchenAid mixer, but if you don’t have one it would still be a simple one-bowl process using electric beaters.

125g Nuttelex (soft butter or butter substitute)
1 ½ cups caster sugar
3 mashed overripe bananas
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
100ml almond milk (or regular milk)
1 ½ cups self-raising flour
 ½ tsp bicarbonate of soda

Preheat oven to 180C. Grease a 20cm round cake tin, and line the base with baking paper. Place butter, sugar, banana, eggs, and vanilla in a bowl and beat for a couple of minutes. Add the milk and beat again. Add the flour and bicarb soda and beat again until combined. Pour into cake tin, bake for 1 hour. Cool in tin for about 10 minutes, then turn onto wire rack to cool.

I then iced this with lemon cream cheese icing, slightly defeating the purpose of making the cake dairy free to start with! It was delicious though.

To make my cream cheese icing I beat 1 block of softened Philadelphia cream cheese with a couple of tablespoons of soft butter. Then I add icing sugar while beating, until it’s the right consistency and taste, and I add some fresh lemon juice at the same time until it tastes how I want it. This makes quite a lot of icing, but it’s super yummy!

7 responses to “Dairy Free Banana Cake

  1. Lovely recipe, thanks for shaing! =

  2. It was an amazing cake Anna, thank you again :)

  3. Shannon McCarthy

    This banana cake was delicious. Made it for my husband this past weekend and between him and my grand-kids, it was gone in no time flat. Thanks for sharing.
    – Shannon, the Crumb Cake Queen

  4. Very happily stumbled across your blog when searching for dairy free banana cake for my dairy allergic 2yo – what a great find! Made this last week, and it was delicious, and then made it again as cupcakes yesterday for a bday, and again delicious (makes about 15 decent sized ones and take about 20 mins to cook). Just in case anyone else has chanced into this great blog who lives in the UK where Nuttelex doesn’t exist, but still needs to bake dairy free, I used Pure soy spread and rice milk and it was a perfect bake. For the icing, I used a package of vegan cream cheese (Sheezly avail in most health food stores here) combined with a 1/4 cup of Pure, a tsp of vanilla, then just beat in about a tonne of icing sugar until it got to the right consistency as the vegan cream cheese is very soft. It tasted great, ‘though very rich just like the real deal, and no one knew it wasn’t Philly. I think this one will be a top school fete bake for many years to come, thank you! Going to try the jam drops this afternoon….

    • Thank you Flossy – what lovely feedback! Great to hear the cake worked for you and the cupcake option sounds like a great idea. Glad you can find a decent vegan cream cheese too, I like Tofutti but can only get it from certain shops here. Hope the jam drops worked out well! :)

  5. Jam drops are absolutely DELICIOUS but let’s just say yours look beautiful and mine look like Dr Frankenstein set aside the cadavers and took up baking. First batch the jam bubbled out and ran over the sides so they actually looked like exploding eyeballs. But then I thought with a bit more creative monster eyeball-type icing, they could make great Halloween biccies. Next batch i made bigger and pressed the holes in with my thumb – jam mostly stayed in place. Just before I cooked the 3rd batch, the little guy informed me he didn’t like jam (!!) so I shaped the remaining dough into crescents and rolled in cinnamon and sugar – he loves these! The dough is so yummy and workable it serves brilliantly as a base for any cookie so will do a batch on the weekend and roll out for a toddler shape cutting & icing sesh. Thanks so much for the recipe! Can’t wait to try more dairy free adventures of yours. :)

Leave a Reply

