Wheat, Gluten, and Dairy Free Carrot and Banana Cake

Next up in the gluten-free, dairy-free experimentation: a cake made from scratch instead of a packet mix! I picked this recipe because it was dairy-free to start with (apart from the original cream cheese icing) so there wasn’t as much modification required. I found these two wheat and gluten-free flours the other day in my shopping expedition so I simply replaced the regular flours in the recipe with these. I was particularly impressed with the plain flour – the texture was pretty much identical to regular flour. The self-raising flour was very fine – it looked and felt more like cornflour.

It’s another AWW recipe that I’ve slightly altered to suit. I’ve never come across a carrot and banana cake recipe before, and I love both separately so I thought I’d probably love the combination too! Also I had a heap of soft bananas and a whole bag of carrots in the fridge… It turned out surprisingly well, not dry but not too dense, with a light and springy texture all the way through. It actually reminded me of the texture of the carrot cakes that my Nanna used to make when I was a child. It’s not a ‘pretty’ cake, not is it super sweet, but it is an easy, tasty and wholesome cake and I’ll definitely be making it again.

1  ¼ cups GF plain flour
½ cup GF self-raising flour
1 teaspoon bicarb soda
1 teaspoon mixed spice
1 teaspoon cinnamon
½ teaspoon nutmeg
1 cup brown sugar
3 eggs
2 cups finely grated carrot
1 cup mashed banana
1 cup vegetable oil 

Preheat oven to 170C. Grease a 23cm springform tin and line the base with baking paper. Sift all the dry ingredients into a large bowl. Stir in the eggs, carrot, banana and oil. Pour into the tin and bake for about 1 ¼ hours, cool in tin.

When the cake was cool enough I turned it out onto a wire rack and then drizzled it with a icing glaze that I made from almond milk, icing sugar and cinnamon.

It was ugly but delicious! I think it would keep pretty well in an airtight container but there wasn’t any left over for me to find out!

Leave a Reply

